Cyrano de Bergerac

Cyrano de Bergerac

Eino Tamberg’s opera in three acts based on Edmond Rostand’s play

This play was written by Edmond Rostand in 1897 and premiered the same year at Théâtre de la Porte Saint-Martin. It takes place in the middle of the 17th century Paris, telling the story of a big-nosed and impulsive swordsman Cyrano who is as talented with his language skills as he is with his rapier.

Compared to Rostand’s play, the opera focuses on the three lead characters – the poet and soldier Cyrano; the object of his affection, Roxane; and the cadet Christian. What is left unsaid is filled by Tamberg’s wonderful melodies, pauses and crescendos, painting allusions to the fragility and tragedy of their dream of happiness.

The story of Cyrano de Bergerac has inspired over forty adaptations in theatre, television and elsewhere. In 2020, London National Theatre premiered a production with James McAvoy as the lead; the movie Cyrano with Peter Dinklage as the title character was released in 2022.

Did Rostand create Cyrano or the other way around? The border between a creation and its creator is very fragile. When one takes over from the other is actually not important. What is important is to understand the message.

– director Mare Tommingas


Premiere on 22 April 2023 at the Small Building of the Vanemuine Theatre

For the title role in Eino Tamberg’s opera Cyrano de Bergerac, Raiko Raalik received the Estonian Theatre Award for Music in 2024.

Language: Estonian
Surtitles: English, Estonian

Composer Eino Tamberg
Librettist Jaan Kross
Musical director and conductor Risto Joost
Conductors Martin Sildos, Taavi Kull
Director, set and costume designer, author of lighting and video design concept Mare Tommingas
Lighting designer Andres Sarv
Video designer Juho Porila
Head chorus master Aleksandr Bražnik
Chorus master Kristi Jagodin
Concert masters Piia Paemurru, Margus Riimaa, Katrin Nuume
Director’s assistant Merle Jalakas


Cast Raiko Raalik NO Estonia or Simo Breede, Pirjo Jonas or Maria Listra guest, Oliver Kuusik guest or Juhan Tralla guest, Tamar Nugis NO Estonia or Atlan Karp guest, Rasmus Kull or Heldur Harry Põlda NO Estonia, Grete Oolberg or Siiri Koodres, Märt Jakobson guest or Taavi Tampuu guest, Karmen Puis or Sandra Laagus guest and others.

The men’s chorus of the Vanemuine opera choir and the Vanemuine symphony orchestra