Concert series of the Vanemuine Symphony Orchestra “Classics”

Concert series of the Vanemuine Symphony Orchestra “Classics”

28 February 2025 at the Viimsi Artium

1 March 2025  at the Vanemuine Concert Hall

Ludwig van Beethoven, Symphony No. 5 in C minor, the Fate Symphony, op. 67
Dmitri Shostakovich, Symphony No. 5 in D minor, op. 47

Created in 2024, this year’s concert series “Classics” will present to the audience the 5th symphonies of two legendary composers, Ludwig van Beethoven and Dmitri Shostakovich, under the baton of conductor Risto Joost.

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 from 1808 is famous for its ominous opening motif consisting of four notes and is thus also known as The Fate Symphony. Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5 (1937) was written for the twentieth anniversary of the 1917 revolution. With this symphony the composer tried to free himself of the ban Stalin placed on performing his compositions across the Soviet Union.

Conductor Risto Joost
Vanemuine Symphony Orchestra